H A Condensed History of Hayfield Hawks Football

(Page 2)

1988 - 1994 (The John Tompkins Era)

img350298.jpg (77763 bytes)

Head Coach John Tompkins.

As the decade of the 80's drew to a close, the Hawks gradually began to turn things around and took a huge step forward when John Tompkins became the head coach for the 1988 season.   After a 3-7 and 4-6 record in his first two seasons, the Hawks were to become one of the top programs in the region through his tenure which ended in 1994. Under Coach Tompkins Hayfield football was known for their running game, tenacity and physical play, a reflection of Coach Tompkins' philosophy.

1988 Hayfield Defense; the menacing 1990 defense;

 Versus West Potomac in the 1990 Regional final.

Coach Tompkins finished his career at Hayfield with a 47-30 record, including two district titles and one regional championship.  Twice they were runner-ups in the region under Tompkins.  One of the best teams that Hayfield would ever field were the 1992 Hawks. The team won the district title and handily defeated a talented McLean squad for the Region championship and were ranked #7 in the Metropolitan area by the Washington Post. The team would lose on the road at E.C. Glass in the state's semi-final. After the disappointing loss the Hawks record stood at 11-2 and a final ranking as the #11 team in the area.

  50.jpg (116969 bytes)
Hayfield's 1992 Northern Region Championship team;  Co-Captains celebrate their Div 5 Championship over McLean (L. to R> Brett Tosch, Andy Cashman, Keith Martin and Jeff Deal) ; RB Keith Martin; the Hawks advanced to the State semi-final before being eliminated by E.C. Glass. Coach Tompkins doused with Gatorade after a big win! Assistant Coach Roy Hill in 1992.

 A number of outstanding players would see action under Coach Tompkins including RB Keith Martin, OL Andy Cashman, WR Darnell McDonald and QB J.J. Mont to name a few.  Andy Cashman, a three year letterman, was a standout offensive lineman for the 1992 squad. McDonald would play at Kansas State University and for the Tampa Bay Bucs.  He is well remembered by old-timers for the famous "fumbleroosky" play against West Springfield in 1994, which gave the Hawks a controversial 23-18 victory as time expired.


One of the top players to have ever worn a Hayfield uniform was WR Darnell McDonald.

Reclassification to Division 6 AAA

In 1994, Hayfield was reclassified as a Division 6 AAA level team and began competing in the Patriot District (which some people referred to in those days as the "Godzilla" District). Schools in the Patriot District were the Annandale Atoms (who won two consecutive state championships in 1993 and 94), the Robinson Rams (who would win two state titles in the coming years), the always tough Lake Braddock Bruins, the very competitive West Springfield Spartans, and the athletic and explosive West Potomac Wolverines.  A tough and highly competitive district, indeed. From 1994 through 2004, the Hawks more than held their own within and outside the district, compiling a very respectable 35-26 record.


Shortly after John Tompkins resignation at the end of the 1994 season, assistant Dudley Johnson was named Head Varsity coach. Johnson ended his tenure at Hayfield with an 18-22 record. In the 1998 season the Hawks six losses were by less than seven points; three were in overtime. Significant achievements were wins over Robinson, Hylton and Annandale that year.

Head Coach Dudley Johnson


During this time frame the Hawks were coached by Danville native Billy Pugh. Pugh was an assistant under Dudley Johnson and was appointed head coach just a week before training camp opened in 1999. Under Coach Pugh the Hawks qualified for the Division 6 playoffs in 2000 and 2001.  In 1999  James Patrick was an All-State selection at the center position.  He attended the University of Rhode Island.

James Patrick was the former head football coach at McLean and is currently the AD at that school.

 The 2000 squad had a number of outstanding players including running back Michael Walker, DB/WR Russell Lee and DT Floyd Wright.  Wright would play for Marshall University.

(Above) 2000 Team Standouts: #3 Michael Walker (All- Patriot District/1st Team Northern Region RB; Honorable mention All-Met Wash Post; All- Patriot District Track); #80 Ian Vincent (All-Patriot District/2nd Team All-Northern Region DE); #75 Floyd Wright (All Patriot-District/2nd Team All-Northern Region DT; Patriot District Wrestling Champion and Northern Region Wrestling Champion; State of Virginia Heavyweight Wrestling Champion; High School All-American, Wrestling); #1 Terrance Jenkins (All-District/2nd Team All-Northern Region DB.  #9 Russell Lee (All-Patriot District/1st Team All-Northern Region WR; Honorable mention Wash Post All-Met WR; All-Patriot District/1st Team All-Northern Region Basketball Guard; McDonald’s All-America Nominee; Channel 7 WJLA High School Athlete of the Week.  (Note:  Another member of the this was #10 Jason Howard (All-Patriot District/1st Team All-Northern Region DB; Patriot District Wrestling Champion/Northern Region Wrestling Champion 145 lbs.) All were members of the Super-44 All-Star game which pitted northern Viriginia players against Maryland.

The 2001 teams was led by the play of All-Northern Region Selection Robert Malone. (Note: His brother Ali, would follow in his footsteps in 2003.)

Malone Hafld vs Ann 2001.jpg (21633 bytes)

(Above) 2001 All-Northern Region WR Robert Malone in action vs. Annandale.

Billy Pugh during the 2009 game at Yorktown.

Other indviduals that played under Pugh were Ian Pleasant, a member of the Hawks 2000-02 team who would play for the Oklahoma Sooners. The 2003 team featured Larry Asante who went to play at Nebraska and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. (Note:  Larry's brother George is a Junior DL playing on the 2012 team.) Other notable players from the Pugh era were LBs Ali Malone and Matthew Downey classes of 2003 and 2004 respectively. From 1999 through 2004 the Hawks had a very respectable record of 35-26.

Michael Walker against West Springfield in the "mud-bowl" 1999; Hawks prevailed 14-6; Walker was arguably one of the finest running backs to play at Hayfield Secondary and was an unanimous All Region selection in 2000. DT  Floyd Wright (2000 team) went on to play for the Thundering Herd of Marshall University. Ian Pleasant (2001 team) would play for the Oklahoma Sooners. Michael Maternick (#90)  was one of the 2003 team's top linebackers alongside Matthew Downey (#40 -  a two time All-District selection) - [Note: Maternick attended VMI and proudly serves with the U.S. Army.]; another was bruising LB Ali Malone (Class of 2004) who was an unanimous All-Northern Region selection in 2003.

Larry Asante from the 2004 team would play at the University of Nebraska and the Tampa Bay Bucs of the NFL.

Page 1  2  3  4